REVIEW | Lezyne Hecto Drive LED Light Set

In the midsts of winter in the UK, there is nothing more frustrating than having around 4 hours of, somewhat dim, daylight to enjoy, so it is really important to have a decent set of lights in order to make the most of winter riding.
I’ve had loads of different light sets over the years, and it has taken a while to find a light set I am happy with, however, I think I’ve found some that I am really happy with.

This happiness comes in the form of the Lezyne Hecto Drive LED Light Set.

image

RRP: £54.99

Currently: £46.74 @ http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lezyne-hecto-drive-led-light-set/

When looking for a new light set, I decided that besides making me visible on the road at night, the main thing I wanted was a set of lights that were rechargeable because a man can only take so much of finding out that his lights have been on all day in the bottom of his bag causing the batteries to die, and then finding that the spares he carries are also dead because the exact same thing happened the day before.
Thankfully, this is not an issue anymore because the Hecto Drive lights are powered by a rechargeable battery, which is recharged via the USB plug located in the watertight cap at the rear end of both lights.

image

The Hecto Drive lights have a battery indicator built into the rubber on/off button, which indicates the battery life as follows:
– full charge shows a green light
– 50% charge shows half red light, half green light
– and at 10% charge it shows a blinking red light.
To turn the lights on and off you hold the power button down, and press it quickly whilst switched on to cycle through the different output settings.
To check the charge, you press it once when the light is off and the green/red light will show for a few seconds which is a really nice, compact way to do this, without having other buttons.

image

In the 3+ months I have been using these lights on pretty much a daily basis, I have found that a freshly charged battery will last me at least 3 days, but this obviously depends on which output setting the light is set to. I will add a video below for an idea of how bright the lights are, and what the various output settings look like as soon as possible.

According to Lezyne, the burn times, and output ratings are as follows:

– Front Output rating: Economy 50lm; Blast 100lm; Flash modes 50lm
– Front Burn times: 2hrs30min – 10hr depending on mode
– Rear Output rating: Economy 7lm; Blast 15lm; Flash modes 15lm.
– Rear Burn times: 5hrs 45min – 12hr 30min depending on mode.

I have found that having the front light on the economy beam is great for keeping me visible when it’s light enough that I can see the road infront of me without needing extra visibility. When it gets darker, and I can’t really see the road or path very well, I will switch the front light to the Blast mode, however this does eat up the battery noticeably quicker than the economy mode.
I tend to have my rear light on the fast flash mode which I have found keeps drivers at a safe distance from me in general, although I do still tend to wear my Respro Hi Viz Hump Rucksack Cover as an extra ‘KEEP AWAY!’ for those drivers who aren’t paying full attention.

The lights attach to the bike with Snap-Fit mounts which are held on with rubber straps. One end of the rubber strap fixes into the mount, and the other end has a tab when is meant for pulling the strap around your frame/seat-post however, I have fitted the strap backwards so the rubber tab sits in the dip where the mount fixes to the frame, acting as protection between the bike and the plastic mount. I have no complaints at all with these mounts, as they are quick and easy to put on/take off, and they are extremely sturdy and hold the lights firmly in place.

image

On the whole, I think it’s pretty safe to say that these lights make an awesome set for commuting at night/when it’s dark throughout the city, although I would recommend a second front light to light up the road for people who ride particularly dark country lanes etc.
Overall, I’d give this light set a 4.5/5, as the only thing that could improve them is a slightly brighter setting for the front light for those very dark roads, and maybe a slightly longer burn time for the front light.

Be sure to let me know what you think of this post on twitter @danielsride, in the comments below, and  don’t forget to ‘like’ my facebook page for regular updates and cycling news and posts from other blogs and websites!

– Daniel 🙂

5 thoughts on “REVIEW | Lezyne Hecto Drive LED Light Set

  1. Thanks for the review. You use the strap as intended……Lezyne could improve on instructions here. Neat features sometimes lost by us looking for the obvious. Re better output etc…move up to Microdrive or Macrodrive. The Hecto is a pricepoint commuter product. Cheers.

    1. Thanks for the comment, I will definitely take a look at the Microdrive and Macrodrive lights. A pricepoint commuter product – but very good for that price! 🙂 Cheers, Daniel

      1. I have the Hecto Drive as well as the Macro Drive.

        I honestly don’t think there is much point in the Micro Drive, the Hecto Drive is IMO actually better. The Micro Drive is more expensive than the Micro but the same basic size. It has a more powerful LED with a max output of 200 rather than 100 lumens, BUT you only get a single hour in this 200 lumen mode. There is a tradeoff here as well in that the more powerful LED used in the Micro Drive is less efficient at lower lumen outputs so while you get 2h30 on the Hecto @100L you only get 2h15 on the Micro. At 50 that drops from 5h to 4h30, and the two flash modes are at 100L rather than 50L netting you 4h30 rather than 10h. And frankly, a 100L flash is just too bright for a flashing light, it will dazzle other road users. Even if they were the same price I would prefer the Hecto Drive.

        The Macro Drive by contrast uses a bigger 18650 battery with about 3x the capacity of the LIR123 in the Hecto/Micro and as such gets 3x the runtime at the same lumen levels while offering you a brighter option. This makes it a bit longer (maybe 50%?) so not quite so compact but it still fits fine in the same mount and the extra length means you actually get decent runtimes on the higher outputs- 8h @100L and 3h30@200L. It also has a 400L mode that gives you only 1h30 but I rarely use this, the other two are bright enough and I prefer to have the runtime.

        The Hecto Drive plus Macro Drive combo is great for me as I just leave the smaller light on my bike basically all the time so I always have some light while just pottering around town and if I am going for a longer distance in the dark I can break out the Macro Drive which fits in the same mount. I also have the helmet mount for them, so I can swap around and use one light on the helmet and the other on the bars as I like.

  2. Good review, but have you used them in the rain? I am thinking of getting just the rear to replace a different on (from Decathalon) that gave up the ghost completely after a getting a little wet.

    1. Not Daniel, but I have these lights (as well as the Macro Drive) and they are all fine in the rain. There is an O ring on the rear cap, you just need to make sure this is on tight and they should be quite waterproof. I live in a monsoon climate so they have seen rain far more intense than you would ever see in the UK.

Leave a Reply

