REVIEW | Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves

One piece of kit I have always struggled to find is a decent pair of winter gloves.

I always find the gloves I’ve had in the past have always been far too thick and chunky for me, as I never feel very confident when you can’t feel anything beneath your fingertips because you are wearing the cycling equivalent of industrial kitchen oven gloves.
Alternatively, it’s just as bad when you cannot feel anything beneath your fingers tips because the ‘winter’ gloves are so thin, your hands still end up freezing anyway.

This year, I decided I was going to treat myself to a new pair, so I could toss the old pair in the bin. They had allowed my fingers to freeze for the last time!

Enter the Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves!

Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves
Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves

RRP: £40.00
Temperature range: 4°C – 15°C

I have been using the Diluvio Deluxe gloves on my commute to and from work for around 2 and a half months now (through the worst part of our winter) and so far I’ve been very impressed on the whole.

Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves
Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves

Firstly, the gloves look great. They’ve got the Castelli name and logo on a strip running from the wrist to the middle and ring finger of the gloves, and even the rubber grip on the palm of the gloves is in a nice pattern – if you’re that way inclined!

The gloves are neoprene with a neoprene insulation, so they feel like a wetsuit, which makes them waterproof and excellent for cold weather.
If you put the gloves on when your hands are already warm, they will stay wonderfully toasty for the entirety of the ride.
It might also be worth noting that the gloves are rather long, which means they keep your wrists warm too, especially when you have a long sleeved jersey tucked into them!
I have found that if my hands are very cold when putting the gloves on, they will stay cold for a while until my overall temperature rises from riding.

Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves
Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves

One downside to the warmth of the gloves, is that your hands WILL sweat like mad and the sweat will sit in the gloves. After a few weeks of this, the gloves give of the smell akin to that of leaving your gym kit in your locker at school for about a year. At the moment, I’m persevering with this stench, however I am sure turning them inside out and washing them will fix this issue.

One of the main things which I love about the gloves is that they are thin enough that I can really feel my bike under my finger tips, and have no issue at all with shifting up and down gears on my road bike with Shimano 105 shifters.
The grip on the palms means even in heavy rain my hands stay firmly on the bars and my fingers won’t slip around on the brakes/gears when I’m using them.

Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves
Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves

One nice feature that all cyclists will be able to appreciate is the ‘thumb wipe’ – a flannel strip running from the thumb, down to the wrist of the glove which you can use to collect any excess snot/dribble/blood/other bodily fluids which may end up on your face in the middle of a ride! (I’m not sure why anyone would make winter gloves without this feature?!).

Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves
Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves

Overall, the quality of the gloves is excellent and I feel I have really put them through their paces over the last few months I have been using them. There’s not a single sign of any stitching coming loose at all and I can see myself continuing to use these gloves throughout the winter and pulling them out whenever I need them throughout the rest of the year!
As this is the case, I feel the £40.00 price tag is a very reasonable one, considering some of the alternative winter gloves around that price range cannot compete with the overall quality of these gloves.

I think I would have to give these gloves overall a 4.5/5 – excellent winter gloves which I would recommend, if not a tad stinky.

4 thoughts on “REVIEW | Castelli Diluvio Deluxe Gloves

  1. I’m currently using my winter motorbike gloves for my cycling commute, they do the job of keeping my hands warm nicely. they are really thick however. So if I can find these a little cheaper than £40 I may have to give them ago!

    1. Don’t get me wrong, thick gloves keep your hands ridiculous warm! I just can’t stand not being able to feel everything I’m doing properly! I should have added a link to somewhere you can buy them, but http://www.wiggle.co.uk has them for less than £40.00 at the moment! – Dan

Leave a Reply

